About Jubilee Theatre
Our History
Board & Staff
News & Reviews
Dallas Fort Worth Theater Critics Forum Awards recognizes Jubilee Theatre's Artistic Director Tre Garrett and actress Ebony Marshall Oliver
Date :2012-09-11


Theater critics vote for Forum Adwards

By ltaitte@dallasnews.com

On Saturday, critics from Dallas and Fort Worth met to vote for the annual Dallas Fort Worth Theater Critics Forum Awards. Here’s the list of winners:

Direction: Bruce R. Coleman, Superior Donuts (Theatre Three); Cheryl Denson, Oklahoma! (Lyric Stage); Tre Garrett, Topdog/Underdog (Jubilee Theatre); Patrick Kelly, The Birthday Party (Undermain Theatre); Rene Moreno, The Night of the Iguana (Contemporary Theatre of Dallas), August: Osage County (WaterTower Theatre) and Coriolanus (Shakespeare Dallas); Jeffrey Schmidt, The Farnsworth Invention (Theatre Three); Michael Serrecchia, Avenue Q (Theatre Three) and The Producers (Uptown Players).

New Play or Musical: Diamond Dick: The Tulsa Race Riots of 1921 by Erik Ehn (Project X: Theatre); International Falls by Thomas Ward (Haven Productions at WaterTower’s Out of the Loop Fringe Festival); Mean by Matthew Posey (Ochre House); Ruth by Vicki Caroline Cheatwood (Kitchen Dog Theater).

Actor: B.J. Cleveland, The Producers; Kyle Cotton, OklahomaI; Chuck Huber, The Real Thing (Stage West) and The Merchant of Venice (Trinity Shakepeare Festival); Alex Organ, Coriolanus and The Farnsworth Invention; Christopher Dontrell Piper, Superior Donuts and Free Man of Color (African American Repertory Company); Van Quattro, Superior Donuts; Terry Vandivort, The Night of the Iguana; Ashley Wood, The Night of the Iguana.

Actress: Emily Scott Banks, A Most Dangerous Woman (Echo Theatre); Erica Harte, Oklahoma! and Spring Awakening (WaterTower Theatre); Jenny Ledel, Twelfth Night (Shakespeare Dallas) and  The Turn of the Screw (Kitchen Dog Theatre); Ebony Marshall-Oliver, Pretty Fire (Jubilee Theatre); Barrett Nash,  My Name is Rachel Corrie (Rite of Passage Theatre Company at the Festival of Independent Theatres); Sally Nystuen Vahle, God of Carnage (Dallas Theater Center); Lulu Ward, The New Century (Uptown Players) and Counting the Ways (WingSpan Theatre Company); Sherry Jo Ward, August: Osage County and International Falls.

Ensemble CastAugust: Osage County; Oklahoma; Avenue Q; The Farnsworth Invention; The Birthday Party.

Creative ContributionDiamond Dick, for the creative team; Avenue Q, for Michael Robinson and the Dallas Puppet Theater’s puppet design and construction; Mean, for Justin Locklear’s music; OklahomaI, for Ann Nieman’s choreography; Superior Donuts, for David Walsh’s set design; The Tempest (Dallas Theater Center), for Beowulf Borritt’s set design.


Touring ProductionAmerican Idiot (Lexus Broadway Series); Bring It On (Dallas Summer Musicals); West Side Story (Dallas Summer Musicals); Irving Berlin’s White Christmas (Performing Arts Fort Worth).


Special Award: To Nouveau 47 Theatre, for their commitment to the mission of developing and presenting new and original works


Emerging Artist Award: Van Quattro.

The critics who participated in the voting were Arnold Wayne Jones, Dallas Voice; Lawson Taitte, The Dallas Morning News; M. Lance Lusk, Liz Johnstone and Lindsey Wilson, Front Row/D Magazine; Elaine Liner, Dallas Observer;  Martha Heimberg, Turtle Creek News/TheatrerJones; Punch Shaw, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Alexandra Bonfield, CriticalRant.com; Perry Stewart and Mark Lowry,TheaterJones.com.